Fishing the Swamp

Nazmir swamp

I’ve fished swamps teaming with life:

otters playing,  birds unseen singing,

gators basking in shafts of sunlight,

and water moccasins slithering by.

Despite the dangers

there’s something peaceful about a swamp,

as long as you stay in the boat. 

Nazmir is a swampy region that, like all three Zandalar zones, is filled with dangerous, aggressive creatures. When I’m on a mission here, I sometimes linger to fish, always watching my back. Many parts of the zone remind me of the wilderness rivers I fished in Florida, my home state. Beautiful places, peaceful for the most part. 

Only once did I have a dangerous encounter with a hostile creature, an alligator. My husband and I had a string of several large mouth bass hanging off the side of our jon boat (a small flat-bottom boat). We were trolling with a little electric motor when a gator spotted our fish and figured it had a free lunch. Gators are stealthy, so it was almost up to the boat before we spotted it. Quickly I pulled in the string while he cranked up the gas motor – and away we went.

About Lotus Greene

I started the blog called "Educating Lotus" in 2011, shortly after I began exploring the virtual world Second Life. With friends I met there, I migrated my virtual life to World of Warcraft (WoW) and joined an educators' guild. Lotus Greene is my gamer name, one I kept when I started another blog in 2015 called "Not Quite Ignored," which originally focused on the lighter side of news and now also includes political news and opinions.
This entry was posted in Moments, World of Warcraft, WoW Snaps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment