My 2013 Edublog Award Nominations

The deadline for nominations for the 2013 Edublog Awards is fast approaching (Dec 1st). Last year I thought about posting nominations; this year I’m doing it! You can nominate your favorite social media sites too, those that focus on education. By clicking the link above and looking over the 2012 winners (and later the 2013 winners), you can see what others are doing in and saying about education, as well as learn about the web resources and tools they use and the games they play. As its site tells you, “The purpose of the Edublog awards is promote and demonstrate the educational values of these social media.” Below are my nominees in the categories (among others available) with which I’m most familiar.

Best individual blog: Gridjumper’s Blog: Collaborative 3-D Environments for Teaching and Learning

Best group blog: Mind/Shift

Best ed tech / resource sharing blog: Gridjumper’s Blog

Most influential blog post of the year: “Chicken or Egg Dilemma in Using 3D Immersive Environments for Teaching and Learning”

Best twitter hashtag: #gamemooc

Best free web tool:  Google Hangout

Best educational use of audio / video / visual / podcast: Inevitable Instructors

Best open PD / unconference / webinar series: Games MOOC

Best educational use of a social network: ISTE-SIGVE (ISTE Special Interest Group for Virtual Environments)

We've got your back :)

We’ve got your back 🙂

About Lotus Greene

I started the blog called "Educating Lotus" in 2011, shortly after I began exploring the virtual world Second Life. With friends I met there, I migrated my virtual life to World of Warcraft (WoW) and joined an educators' guild. Lotus Greene is my gamer name, one I kept when I started another blog in 2015 called "Not Quite Ignored," which originally focused on the lighter side of news. For a year I didn't blog at all - just didn't get around to it. Lots has changed since then: for one thing I'm now completely retired from teaching; for another, the U.S. political climate has grown darker. I return to blogging with, among other things, the goals of providing "Political News in Brief" every week or so in "Not Quite Ignored" and in "Educating Lotus" occasionally posting screenshots and reflections on aspects of Legion, WoW's most recent and quite exciting expansion.
This entry was posted in Educational Tools, Game-Based Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

