Looking for a Home to Call my Own in Second Life® – Often!

One thing seems certain in life: continual change. Very little stays the same for very long. And there’s little doubt, at least in my seven-plus months of virtual existence, that change occurs much more swiftly in the virtual world than in the physical world. Home, in particular, has been a virtual place that keeps changing for me. I write this post to record the paths I’ve taken to get to the place I now call my virtual home.

Caledon Oxbridge tribute to John Lennon: "Reality Leaves a Lot to the Imagination."

I began virtual life in the usual way: homeless. As I mentioned in an earlier post, my first “home” (loosely defined) was Caledon Oxbridge, under a tree or on a park bench. From there I moved to a cushion in Peace Park on Info Island to be near the library. Next I rented a large “starter” home designated for newbies in an area that came to seem unbearably bare and lifeless; and after a few weeks there, I settled on Etopia Island in a peaceful apartment with attractive surroundings and a fabulous ocean view.

Etopia Island apartments

For the first time, I bought a little furniture (just under the 50-prim limit), trashed the furniture freebies, and felt at home in SL. But after several months at Etopia, I grew to feel cramped. About that time, a private home I admired, the only house along the shoreline below, disappeared, and a big “For Sale” sign appeared in its place. The sign seemed an affront somehow, a violation of my view. So I leaped into premium membership.

Linden Homes, the Tahoe subdivision

Premium members, as you may know, have 512 sqm of space to use as they like, including to opt for a Linden Home, which is what I did. I chose a Tahoe model, received the location of my assigned home, and teleported there. Almost immediately I regretted leaving Etopia. Although the house was huge compared to my apartment and I now had 117 prims to work with, I had no yard and no view to speak of – bad luck in the Linden Home lottery, it seems. If I’d read Inara Pey’s excellent advice on Linden Homes in her November blog post, I suspect that my experience at Tahoe (and later at Shareta Osumai) would have been better. (Also see Pey’s recent post on possible changes to Linden Homes.)

Looking over my new waterfront property

I stayed in Tahoe three weeks before I happened upon an attractive piece of waterfront land on the Mainland. I found it by flying around an area I liked and visiting parcels for sale (as shown in yellow with dollar signs on the world map). So I upped my tier level and purchased three, adjacent, 512 sqm parcels (1536 sqm for L$5700). I then bought a funky beach house with plenty of space for me and began the process of landscaping – something I was looking forward to, something I couldn’t do in a Linden Home.

My new beach house on my new lots - for 3 weeks only, alas

Given that my time inworld is limited, I knew it’d take a while to fix the place up, but I was in no rush. And it’s a good thing, too, because one evening almost three weeks to the day that I’d purchased the land, I arrived to find a stranger putting an apartment building smack dab to my property line, practically in my living room. It was a rather uninteresting red-brick building at that, one that seemed wildly out of place in a beach setting. Besides, I have this thing about being crowded. So I asked the stranger if he wanted to expand his empire. Thank goodness, he did. Right then and there I sold him the land for the same price I’d paid, packed up, and, a bit dazed, got offline.

My house (briefly) at Linden Homes' Shareta Osumai subdivision

The next day I was back in another crowded area, in a Linden Home in Shareta Osumai, a Japanese themed subdivision. I knew I wouldn’t be there long and kept an eye on the Linden auctions. Within a week I won a 512 sqm parcel for the minimum price of L$250 (I was the only bidder). I was hoping to find a larger piece of land, but this spot is quite good considering others I looked at. It’s in a nice neighborhood (if I don’t wander too far or have my draw too high); and, at least for now, it’s not crowded, has a good view, and none of the land around it is for sale.

Pergola Retreat - the initial structure & a glimpse of the neighborhood

Meanwhile, I’m having fun fixing up my little place, which I call Pergola Retreat. I built an open-air home with a raw wood pergola from Scully’s Place (L$30) and a free platform I stumbled on at Moco Furniture Emporium (the pieces of which I was able to unlink and move around). I took advantage of a Premium Sandbox to put the structure together.

Pergola Retreat furnished

With the purchase of two trees, a little furniture and decorations, and soon with the purchase of other landscaping items and perhaps a cat, I estimate that I’ll have spent less than L$2500 for everything. Plus I’ve had the satisfaction of creating a home from scratch, beginning with a deep hole in the ground (I learned how to do basic terraforming). If it doesn’t work out, so what: I’ve had another intriguing virtual experience and, in the process, discovered a few of the many possibilities for making a home in Second Life.

Two trees, a fireplace, and moonlight

I would love to hear about the paths you’ve traveled to find your home in Second Life. Enjoy!

Contemplating dandelions - hmm, not sure this works :^)

 

 

About Lotus Greene

I started the blog called "Educating Lotus" in 2011, shortly after I began exploring the virtual world Second Life. With friends I met there, I migrated my virtual life to World of Warcraft (WoW) and joined an educators' guild. Lotus Greene is my gamer name, one I kept when I started another blog in 2015 called "Not Quite Ignored," which originally focused on the lighter side of news and now also includes political news and opinions.
This entry was posted in For Newbies, Uncategorized, Virtual Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

