North Carolina State Wolflands in Second Life®

One of my main inworld goals is to explore educational opportunities in Second Life for college students and personnel. So I was pleased to hear about the Virtual State Fair and University Expo in Second Life (26-29 October), organized by the Cooperative Extension System. The University Expo tent featured the works of 15 land-grant universities. I went there twice this weekend and picked up notecards and landmarks for university SL regions that I might not have discovered otherwise.

Hot-Air Balloon Tour of the 4th Annual Virtual State Fair

North Carolina State’s SL island, called NC State Wolflands, was among the exhibits. I chose to visit it first because my best real life friend recently retired from university life and moved back to North Carolina, her home state. I really miss her and have this fantasy that she’ll join me in SL when she catches these glimpse of how very cool Wolflands is :^).

Wolflands Amphitheater and Distance Education Building

The notecard I received at the teleport landing said this about Wolflands: “When building our Second Life® campus, we tried to make a futuristic example of the actual NC State campus. You may recognize some landmarks like the Memorial Bell Tower, the Brickyard, and Harrelson Hall. You may also notice that they look a little different. That’s the point! Wolflands is meant to stretch the boundaries of real life.”

Relaxing at the Wolf's Den in Harrelson Hall (the ears I'm wearing are in honor of National Cat Day, 10/29)

By watching “Wolflands Tour,” a 5-minute YouTube video by an NC State librarian, I learned that each real life NC State college (e.g., Design, Education, Engineering, Management) has a space on the island for faculty and students. Like the librarian, I toured the campus in the Wolfline flying pod. The photos I took in flight didn’t turn out all that well; the photos in this blog are from my non-pod explorations, but still fuzzy, alas.

Pond (with croaking frogs) in front of D.C. Hill Library

While I did enjoy the Wolfline tour, walking about and using teleport boards revealed the places I liked the best: Bookhenge, an outdoor setting for book discussions; and the five asteroids above the island, suitable for seminars, small classes, meetings, and even meditation (no one was on the island when I visited).

Pretending to lead a book discussion at Wolfland's Bookhenge

Cozy setting for discussions on Asteroid 1

Asian Decor on Asteroid 2 (the red rectangle is the teleport board)

I’ve become fascinated with the representation of trees on many university islands – and Wolflands has some super ones. I took quite a few photos of trees there and, to conclude this entry, share two with you.

Wolflands Pines

An Oak (I think) next to the NC State Online Education Building

About Lotus Greene

I started the blog called "Educating Lotus" in 2011, shortly after I began exploring the virtual world Second Life. With friends I met there, I migrated my virtual life to World of Warcraft (WoW) and joined an educators' guild. Lotus Greene is my gamer name, one I kept when I started another blog in 2015 called "Not Quite Ignored," which originally focused on the lighter side of news and now also includes political news and opinions.
This entry was posted in Universities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to North Carolina State Wolflands in Second Life®

  1. Pingback: North Carolina State Wolflands in Second Life® | Logicamp's Blog

Leave a Reply

