Inworld Workshop for Educators: A Recent Experience

Gosh, weeks have flown by since I made my first and only blog entry.  Sure, my real life, like everyone else’s I know, has been busy.  Even so I’ve found time to visit Second Life but haven’t made blogging a routine, a pleasant habit.  I’ll try.  With cold weather approaching, I should find myself indoors more often – less time gardening and golfing, camping and hiking and biking.  Oh, but I will miss doing those things, yet it could be a good time to do more in Second Life and to blog.

Yesterday I completed a ten-day, Sloan Consortium workshop for educators called “Beginning Second Life” and received a Certificate of Completion, with a top score on my skills test.  I’m proud of that.  But more importantly, I made a few friends and sharpened my SL basic skills considerably.  For example, I learned how to write and send notecards, share something in my inventory, use map coordinates, use voice chat, and much more.  And the workshop gave me an SL confidence boost that I needed for feeling more comfortable inworld.

I hope to take Sloan’s Intermediate and Advanced SL workshops later this fall, which will, I think, focus more on teaching in SL, something I hope to do.  I can strongly recommend the workshop that I took to anyone, but especially to university educators. The experience convinced me that the potential of virtual worlds for engaging and interacting with students – and for students interacting with each other – is immense, particularly for online and blended course work. See http://sloanconsortium.org/ for more information.

On completing Sloan-C Workshop


About Lotus Greene

I started the blog called "Educating Lotus" in 2011, shortly after I began exploring the virtual world Second Life. With friends I met there, I migrated my virtual life to World of Warcraft (WoW) and joined an educators' guild. Lotus Greene is my gamer name, one I kept when I started another blog in 2015 called "Not Quite Ignored," which originally focused on the lighter side of news. For a year I didn't blog at all - just didn't get around to it. Lots has changed since then: for one thing I'm now completely retired from teaching; for another, the U.S. political climate has grown darker. I return to blogging with, among other things, the goals of providing "Political News in Brief" every week or so in "Not Quite Ignored" and in "Educating Lotus" occasionally posting screenshots and reflections on aspects of Legion, WoW's most recent and quite exciting expansion.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

